Home Recommended Explore Explore Videos Explore Livestreams Explore Images Explore Audio Explore Topics Explore Users Explore groups Topics Groups About Features & roadmap Airtime extension Membership & xp moderation Community guidelines Airtime a short history imprint Contact us changelog

@Public Source Projects

The Quantum Internet

#Opensource #Technology

Check out the new Space Time Merch Store!


Support Space Time on Patreon


When we finally have a quantum internet you’ll be able to simultaneously like and dislike this video. But we don’t. So I hope you like it. The world is widely regarded as being well and truly into the digital age, also called the information age. No longer are economies and industries solely characterised by the physical goods they produce, and in fact some of the largest companies in the world produce no physical goods at all: digital information is a commodity in its own right. As discussed in a previous episode, this worldwide digital economy is fundamentally reliant on certain cryptographic processes. Currently these processes work in the realm of classical cryptography, but one day soon this may not be enough and so quantum cryptographic methods and algorithms are being developed. However, it’s one thing to design a protocol, it’s something else entirely to build a system to support it. To understand what needs to be done we need to get to the foundations of quantum mechanics - we need to talk about quantum information theory.

Hosted by Matt O'Dowd

Written by Graeme Gossel and Matt O'Dowd

Graphics by Leonardo Scholzer

Directed by Andrew Kornhaber

Produced By: Kornhaber Brown

Big Bang Supporters:

Anton Lifshits

David Nicklas

Fabrice Eap

Juan Benet

Justin Lloyd

Morgan Hough

Quasar Supporters:

Mark Heising

Mark Rosenthal

Tambe Barsbay

Vinnie Falco

Hypernova Supporters:

Chuck Zegar

Danton Spivey

Donal Botkin

Edmund Fokschaner

Hank S

John Hofmann

John R. Slavik

Jordan Young

Joseph Salomone


Mark Heising


Matthew O'Connor

Syed Ansar

Gamma Ray Burst Supporters:

Adrien Hatch

Alexey Eromenko

Andreas Nautsch

Bradley Jenkins

Brandon Labonte

Carlo Mogavero

Daniel Lyons

David Behtala


Dustan Jones

Geoffrey Short

James Flowers

James Quintero

John Funai

John Pollock


Jonathan Nesfeder

Joseph Dillman

Joseph Emison

Josh Thomas

Kevin Warne

Kyle Hofer

Malte Ubl

Mark Vasile

Nathan Hitchings

Nick Virtue

Paul Rose

Ryan Jones

Scott Gossett

Sigurd Ruud Frivik

Tim Jones

Tim Stephani

Tommy Mogensen

Yurii Konovaliuk

سلطان الخليفي

Comment Count:0
Group Name:
Votes Count:4