Home Recommended Explore Explore Videos Explore Livestreams Explore Images Explore Audio Explore Topics Explore Users Explore groups Topics Groups About Features & roadmap Airtime extension Membership & xp moderation Community guidelines Airtime a short history imprint Contact us changelog


LOVE ME TENDER (EPA 4006 - 1956)

*** Recorded on August 24, September 4 and October 1, 1956 ***

Help us keep bringing more Elvis to you with a Tube donation or:

- Paypal or Credit Card (worldwide): https://www.paypal.com/donate?hosted_button_id=V5GD57PGAEY4N

- PicPay (Brazil Only): http://picpay.me/dmc.84

Love Me Tender contains the four songs from the motion picture of the same name released in 1956.

The four EP soundtrack songs were recorded at Fox's Stage One in Hollywood, at three sessions on August 24, September 4, and October 1, 1956.

The title song was released as a single on September 28, 1956, and went to #1 on the singles chart.

The music was based on the Civil War ballad "Aura Lee," with new lyrics by Ken Darby. Darby, in fact, wrote all of the soundtrack songs, but credited them to his wife, Vera Matson, while Parker cut his publishing company, Hill and Range, in on the royalties by further crediting the writing to Presley as well.

A reprise of "Love Me Tender" was recorded on October 1 and is heard at the end of the film; this short track was not released until after Presley's death.

The sessions for these songs were the only time in the decade that Presley recorded with musicians outside his regular coterie.

It was released by RCA Victor on November 15, 1956 and peaked at #9 on Top Pop Albums chart with sales of over 600,000, as well as making it to #35 on the singles chart.

It was simultaneously certified Gold and Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America on March 27, 1992.

Rare tracks such as the end title version of "Love Me Tender", the stereo Masters and movie versions only became available from 1997 onwards.


*****ORIGINAL EP (MONO)*****

1. Love Me Tender

2. Let Me

3. Poor Boy

4. We're Gonna Move


5. Love Me Tender (End Title Version)

6. The Truth About Me (Excerpt of August 22, 1956 interview at the set of Love Me Tender)


7. We're Gonna Move (Take 4)

8. We're Gonna Move (Take 9)

9. Poor Boy (Take 3 - Original 3 Verse Master)

10. Poor Boy (Remake, Take 1)

11. Poor Boy (Extended Verse - Vocal Overdub Take 6)

12. Let Me (Vocal Overdub Take 3)

13. Let Me (Vocal Overdub Take 4)


14. Love Me Tender

15. Let Me

16. Poor Boy

17. We're Gonna Move


18. The Truth About Me (Full August 22, 1956 interview at the set of Love Me Tender)


19. We're Gonna Move (Take 9 with overdubs)

20. Let Me (Solo)


21 Love Me Tender (The Ed Sullivan Show - October 28, 1956)

22 Love Me Tender (with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra)

#Elvis #ElvisPresley

Comment Count:0
Group Name:
Votes Count:1